Vacation Scheme application prep

lbb

Aug 15, 2020
Hello everyone! This is my first time creating a thread, so I'm sorry if I lack any "TCLA" etiquette.

With vacation scheme applications beginning to slowly open up, I am trying to figure out what kind of application strategy would work best for me. Due to so many firms reviewing applications on a rolling basis, I definitely want to hand in my applications ASAP.

I know the firms I want to apply to, and have spoken to future trainees about the application process. They have kindly shared the application questions they answered when they were applying for vac schemes.

Would it be unwise for me to prepare answers to these questions in anticipation? I know that sometimes application questions differ each year, but on the flip side a lot of them appear to be asking the same questions too!

I'm in two minds about this, as I don't want to prepare/ask people to review answers for questions that may not appear on the application.

Sorry for such a long-winded post! :)

Reactions: Jaysen

D

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Sep 11, 2018
Hey,

I would prepare answers to, at the very least, the following questions:

Why do I want to be a commercial lawyer? (Why law)

What skills do I have that are transferrable to the role of a trainee (Why me)

What is your greatest achievement? (Why me)

What extra-curricular activities do you engage in that will support your application? (Why me)

And of course - Why X Firm. Although, this is the one answer that must be tailored specifically to the application.

My strategy last year - Identify the firms I wanted to apply to, identify when their VS's were, and work on the assumption all of my applications are going to be successful. The last thing you want is making three successful applications to firms who have their VS on the exact same dates. Its a big waste, as not all firms will be flexible and allow you to change.