Visa and Vac Schemes

M&M

• Oct 22, 2020
    Hi everyone!

I am an international student and a recent law graduate. I am currently working on securing a TC but my visa is going to expire soon so I won't be able to do vac schemes. I am worried because I heard that some firms recruit predominantly through vac schemes and was wondering if this would put me at a disadvantage? I hope to do work experience in my home country to build my CV so will that help my direct TC application?

I was also wondering if firms that only recruit through vac schemes would accommodate me? If anyone has experience with this, I'd really appreciate your input.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
    TCLA Moderator
    Gold Member
    Graduate Recruitment
    Premium Member
    Forum Team
    Aug 1, 2019
    Hi everyone!

I am an international student and a recent law graduate. I am currently working on securing a TC but my visa is going to expire soon so I won't be able to do vac schemes. I am worried because I heard that some firms recruit predominantly through vac schemes and was wondering if this would put me at a disadvantage? I hope to do work experience in my home country to build my CV so will that help my direct TC application?

I was also wondering if firms that only recruit through vac schemes would accommodate me? If anyone has experience with this, I'd really appreciate your input.
    If you graduated this summer, you could consider applying for a post-graduate visa - gives you the right to work in the UK for up to 2 years after graduation.

M&M

• Oct 22, 2020
    If you graduated this summer, you could consider applying for a post-graduate visa - gives you the right to work in the UK for up to 2 years after graduation.
    Thank you for your reply! I looked into that but I am planning on doing an LLM in September 2022 so I thought it would be a waste to convert to a graduate route now because you can only apply for it once and it is quite expensive.

Jessica Booker