What to do if I don't get any vacation schemes?

ginevrafanshawe

• Aug 12, 2022
    Hi everyone, I'm a penultimate year student who is currently receiving the decisions for my vacation scheme applications and so far all I've gotten is a few rejections. I did get to the second application stage for one firm (video interview), but they then rejected me too :(

I still have a number of firms yet to reply, but it did get me thinking about what happens if they reject me too. I know that in third year I can apply for direct TCs - is this more or less competitive than applying for vac schemes? As well as this, if I do vac schemes that year too and manage to convert one of them to a TC, will the firm still fund my SQE training which would start in the same year as the vac scheme? Or would it be too late as I'd get the TC offer too close to when the SQE starts?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Maria d'Orey

Star Member
    Staff member
    Future Trainee
    Gold Member
    Premium Member
    Junior Lawyer
    Sep 30, 2022
    Hi @ginevrafanshawe ! Thanks for sharing this with us!

I would first like to start by saying that I understand how frustrating the process of applying to schemes can be. It is daunting to go into the process knowing that you will still need to compete for a TC after the actual VS and that so much is out of your control (e.g. how many great quality applications the particular firm you're applying to received that cycle). Still, I am genuinely sorry this situation has led you to feel disheartened - just please know that you're definitely not alone! It is a difficult and tiring process to break into commercial law, and in itself a definite example of your resilience and determination! 🌟