'Why commercial law?'

Sandrou

Esteemed Member
Feb 28, 2018
Hi guys, I hope everyone is well.

Perhaps Jaysen can answer this in more detail as I'm no expert. However, I've recently been asked a question in respect to answering the 'why commercial law?' question on applications and I felt perhaps it might be helpful if I post my 'strategy' on a general thread.

'Why commercial law/legal career' and 'Why this firm'? are perhaps the most difficult questions to answer because not only does it need to be personal to you, but it also needs to be tailored to the firm you are applying to.

In terms of strategy, I make a list of why I'm interested in commercial law or a legal career. For example: I studied law at university and enjoyed it; I enjoy the intricacies of business (I run my own business); I've attended open days, workshops, completed internships/vacation schemes etc; I've been interested in economic developments since university etc.

I would then answer the question directly as to why and how these activities have cemented my interest or desire to pursue a career in commercial law and NOT any other career paths.

Ultimately, the question aims to seek your motivations towards commercial law, therefore if you're a non-law student (or law student), you need to formulate an answer to show your motivation towards commercial law. Talking about your experiences, whether that's within a commercial sector, position of responsibility or volunteering - you must relate it back to why this influences your decision to pursue commercial law.

jess889

Distinguished Member
Feb 26, 2018

Perhaps Jaysen can answer this in more detail as I'm no expert. However, I've recently been asked a question in respect to answering the 'why commercial law?' question on applications and I felt perhaps it might be helpful if I post my 'strategy' on a general thread.