Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
The challenge for you (by the sounds of it) is that there will be very little evidence of your actual academic ability if your mitigating circumstances cover both your A-levels and degree. Do you have any grades where your circumstances were either under control or not present?

Reactions: KabirAhmad

Daniel Boden

Legendary Member
Trainee
Highest Rated Member
  • Sep 6, 2018
    Hi, I hope everyone is doing well.

Without having to mention my whole life story...I've had a rough life (mentally) which affected my grades a lot. I was diagnosed with a mental health condition in my final year of University, but I had this condition for a while, and my a-level grades plummeted, along with my first two years of University.

I was just wondering if I have any chance AT ALL, to get a training contract with a city firm or even a magic circle/American firm. I'm a non-law student studying at a Russel Group University in London (not the best). I have mitigating circumstances along with a backlog of medical evidence to supply in applications. My work experience is quite extensive: I was a part of a Business partnership programme with Clyde&Co in 2016, which paired me with a mentor (whom I speak to still), I managed to win the competition which was a part of the programme. I then managed to land a 1-week internship at the firm In 2019, which was amazing. I also have some work experience in a high street firm as a secretary and admin. I am currently undertaking a pro-bono placement with Clifford Chance. I have been very active in seeking opportunities that can overshadow my academics. I also have 3 mentors (who encourage me - but I haven't told them about my problems or grades). I would really love to work at Clyde&Co, its literally my dream firm (any firm would do at this point), but with my poor history, I really doubt myself.