TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2022-23

Status
Not open for further replies.

confusedlawstudent

Legendary Member
Premium Member
  • Oct 28, 2021
    Hi,

I'm probably not the best example as I graduated a few years ago, but I was in the same position as you in my final year (except I finally figure out the process in April with one month left to go lol). Don't put yourself down, if I could go back and talk to final year me, I'd tell her that it's still possible to get legal experience and gain other transferable skills whilst chasing the Vs or TC! Delay is not denial!!

Firstly, change your mindset! It's November and Spring and Summer Vac Scheme applications are still open. A lot of Direct TCs haven't even opened yet (although some firms recommend doing their Vac Schemes if you don't have legal work experience). Take the time to research firms of interest, build on your commercial awareness etc. Feel free to put a post on the TC journey thread on the forum to hold yourself accountable! (https://www.thecorporatelawacademy.com/forum/forums/my-training-contract-journey.81/)

Secondly, just because your experience isn't the same as others, doesn't mean it's any less valuable. In terms of your experiences, don't count them out, you have an impressive range of experiences that prove you will have the skills firm desire. At a glance:

• Worked as a receptionist in a local family law firm for over a year (2019-2020) - Experience that exposed you to the legal industry. What tasks did you do here that you may need to do as a trainee?
    • Mooted in my university mooting society for 2 years - You probably gained skills that will help you in a dispute resolution seat! Plus doing it as an extracurricular proves your commitment!