After graduation - SQE, LPC, paralegal, or something else?

pfoapplicant

Esteemed Member
Dec 7, 2020
Hi all,

I'm a UK student coming towards the end of the third year of my Law degree at Cambridge; I'm predicted to be on the borderline between a high 2:1 and a First. Ultimately, I'm looking to work towards getting a TC at a commercial law firm in London.
Unfortunately, I haven't got any training contracts lined up - none of my applications this year were successful, and the sum total of my legal work experience is a two-week vacation scheme at Sidley Austin last year.

I've been considering my options following graduation, and there are a couple of questions which come to mind (on which I'd really appreciate whatever advice anyone has!)

1. Do you think it's worth self-funding the SQE/LPC, or would it be better getting work experience (as, say, a paralegal), and then using that to get a TC through which I won't have to fund the SQE/LPC? I'm not entirely sure whether being a paralegal (without first doing the SQE/LPC) would be viable given my relative lack of work experience; on the flipside, I'm not sure whether doing the SQE/LPC really progresses me that far along the road to a TC - I suppose what I'm trying to ask is what do you think would be the most productive way to spend the year post-graduation (i.e. what course of action do you think is least likely to result in a wasted year?) - would self-funding the SQE/LPC basically just be spending a lot of money for something with not much added value?