TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2023-24

ChanA2626

Standard Member
Jan 22, 2022
Hi all, just wanted to ask for clarification:

1) Is it of general consensus that if you receive and take the VS for a UK firm, it is likely that you will be kept on for a TC?
2) Conversely, if you receive and take the VS for a US firm, there is much more competition for a TC hence no implications?

I have heard some leading US firms (V5, so think Cravath, Skadden...etc) have as many as >15 VS students but only <5 of them got the return offer for TC.

I have no knowledge of their UK counterparts.

Thanks a lot.

Reactions: axelbeugre

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi all, just wanted to ask for clarification:

1) Is it of general consensus that if you receive and take the VS for a UK firm, it is likely that you will be kept on for a TC?
2) Conversely, if you receive and take the VS for a US firm, there is much more competition for a TC hence no implications?

I have heard some leading US firms (V5, so think Cravath, Skadden...etc) have as many as >15 VS students but only <5 of them got the return offer for TC.

I have no knowledge of their UK counterparts.

Thanks a lot.
Hi @ChanA2626

I wouldn’t look at this at U.K. vs US firms.

It is much more about the ratio of VS to TC places. Many US firms with low TC numbers will have a ratio less favourable than many U.K. firms where the ratio is lower. But that can’t be said of all US firms, and it can’t be said of all U.K. firms.

For the majority of firms there will be a good chance of converting to a TC - that’s the whole purpose of the vacation scheme.