Do law firms have a preference re: the GDL or an MA Law ?

Lorenzo Pizarro

Standard Member
Mar 26, 2020
Hi,

Posting this here as I would appreciate insight from those who know more about how law firms recruit than I do.

I'm a graduate who's interested in a law conversion, and I've just got off the phone from some of the University of Law's salespeople who have told me that law firms have no preference for either the MA Law (qualifies you to study the LPC or the BPC after) or the more traditional GDL. Is this the case? If so, why does anyone bother with the GDL?

This would be good news to me, as I can apply for a student loan for the MA Law without exhausting my savings. I have the option to study whilst living at home, so other living costs are not a big worry for me.

I'm posting here to confirm this, as the Uni of Law and other providers might have reason to hype up the MA Law course (higher fees).

Reactions: Daniel Boden

Daniel Boden

Legendary Member
Trainee
Highest Rated Member
  • Sep 6, 2018
    I think for one the MA Law is harder than the GDL? The pass mark for the MA Law is 50% average and only is 40% for the GDL so that's probably a reason... also as you say the GDL is quite a bit cheaper and arguably gives you a more rounded year of study than the MA Law but I'm not certain on that

Reactions: Lorenzo Pizarro

Daniel Boden

Legendary Member
    Trainee
    Highest Rated Member
  • Sep 6, 2018
    Hi Daniel - Thanks for the response.

So law firms don't really have a preference as there are pros and cons to both? (The MA is more difficult but the GDL is more rounded?)
    Absolutely no preference at all as ultimately both allow you to study the LPC after a year. I don't think but most will assume people will do the GDL! That's the route they tend to fund but with the SQE coming in that could change

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
    TCLA Moderator
    Gold Member
    Graduate Recruitment
    Premium Member
    Forum Team
    Aug 1, 2019