Mandatory 2.1 or above in non-law modules for top firms?

student101

Standard Member
Dec 27, 2019
Hi guys,

I'm currently in my first year of a joint-honours Law degree, and was wondering when applying for vacation schemes and training contracts at top firms (e.g. Magic Circle and Silver Circle firms) whether a 2.1 or above in all modules is expected/considered mandatory? Or is it really just expected in the Law modules?

Thanks!

Romiras

Legendary Member
Associate
Apr 3, 2019
It's expected that you obtain a 2.1 as your total grade average (or expected grade average). You can have a few 2.2s around - however, certain firms will scrutinise you and may ask about it in your interview (Slaughter and May, White & Case, etc). Other firms may be more stringent about obtaining 2.1s (minimum) in certain modules like Contract law (i.e. Davis Polk), and will reject you automatically as part of their filtering process (although things may have changed since then).

D

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Sep 11, 2018
I concur with the above.

It certainly differs on a firm-by-firm basis with some being more particular than others. The way to approach it all really though is to simply do your best. At the end of the day, you are in a pool of applicants that can be thousands in size. You want to limit anything that will potentially put you into the "no" pile, 2:2's included. That doesn't mean 2:1's are mandatory, however, but you get my point :)

• ℹ️
Reactions: student101 and Daniel Boden

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi guys,

I'm currently in my first year of a joint-honours Law degree, and was wondering when applying for vacation schemes and training contracts at top firms (e.g. Magic Circle and Silver Circle firms) whether a 2.1 or above in all modules is expected/considered mandatory? Or is it really just expected in the Law modules?

Thanks!