How to stay motivated when you keep getting rejected

f.2000

Standard Member
  • Oct 12, 2020
    Hi everyone, I don't meant to bring everyone down with me but recently I've been feeling pretty hopeless :(

I've applied to well over 20-30 vac schemes over the last year, and I keep facing rejection after rejection. I know it's simply a part of the process and everyone goes through it, but I keep feeling like I just won't get anything. I've tried to build up my experiences over summer by starting my own company and last year I was a part of a committee for a decently large society. Work experience wise, I had two weeks of informal shadowing at DWF and I worked as a hospitality waiter over the last year.

Apart from that I haven't really got a whole lot - I feel like everyone else applying just has so much more impressive stuff to talk about. I tried to secure some type of remote internships over the summer and didn't get anything. I just don't know where I'm lacking and what I can do in the short time available to me to improve.

Sorry for this rant, I just feel a bit down about this whole thing. How do you guys stay motivated after rejections?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
    TCLA Moderator
    Gold Member
    Graduate Recruitment
    Premium Member
    Forum Team
    Aug 1, 2019
    Hi everyone, I don't meant to bring everyone down with me but recently I've been feeling pretty hopeless :(

I've applied to well over 20-30 vac schemes over the last year, and I keep facing rejection after rejection. I know it's simply a part of the process and everyone goes through it, but I keep feeling like I just won't get anything. I've tried to build up my experiences over summer by starting my own company and last year I was a part of a committee for a decently large society. Work experience wise, I had two weeks of informal shadowing at DWF and I worked as a hospitality waiter over the last year.