2020-21 Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lmagic77

Standard Member
Feb 22, 2021
Hey all, I am an international student taking the GDL and just received the unfortunate news that I will probably be unable to extend my visa through the summer and will have to go home to apply for the LPC visa. Unfortunately, this means that I won’t have the right to work in the UK during summer vacation scheme season (early June through early August). I already have a vacation scheme place at a US firm (Shearman & Sterling) this summer and several upcoming final stage interviews - does anyone have any advice on what I should do?

Some of the firms I’ve got interviews at only take from their vacation scheme - is it worth begging for some sort of TC interview?

Does anyone know if firms are willing or able to have international students without visas partake in virtual vacation schemes?

AW_08

Valued Member
Dec 20, 2019
I applied on the 1st December for Kirkland's vac scheme and I've not heard anything since. I know they've held ACs/interviews, so I am assuming it is a PFO, but is it worth emailing the recruitment to get confirmation?

Cho

Aug 8, 2020
Hey all, I am an international student taking the GDL and just received the unfortunate news that I will probably be unable to extend my visa through the summer and will have to go home to apply for the LPC visa. Unfortunately, this means that I won’t have the right to work in the UK during summer vacation scheme season (early June through early August). I already have a vacation scheme place at a US firm this summer and several upcoming final stage interviews - does anyone have any advice on what I should do?

Some of the firms I’ve got interviews at only take from their vacation scheme - is it worth begging for some sort of TC interview?

Does anyone know if firms are willing or able to have international students without visas partake in virtual vacation schemes?