2nd year law student query on a legal career within the corporate world

Aleksandar

Nov 9, 2021
Hi all!

I have come across many forums that relate to law to try and get some general advice on what direction I should be focusing on to have a legal career.

My situation is very difficult, partly due to covid, but I do want to take most accountability for the reason why I put myself in such a situation.

I am a 2nd year law student at a university within central London currently undertaking my LLB bachelor. To give some context on my current position, I did my a level from 2018-2019. I finished my first year and went onto start my second year at a level but covid hit and my a levels had been cancelled resulting in our teachers marking our grades. I was marked a Merit in IT, C in Criminology and an E in law... yes an E... Both covid and my lack of enthusiasm for the subjects that I did for a level hit me hard but there is no one but myself to blame so I took it up on my chin and moved on...

After finishing my first year with around 70% I have entered my second year with a goal of pushing hard and getting a first. I am working 15+ hours a day to try and achieve this goal. I’m in a situation where I want to peruse a career in corporate law within a magic circle firm but I’m not sure if that will be possible...

I have set myself a plan that I will want to take a masters after university at a more prestigious university then the one that I’m currently in. Along with this I was contemplating doing a PHD at a prestigious university within London but upon looking at another thread on here and coming to the conclusion that it may be too academic and firms may not see it as an advantage of other students, I have decided to hold onto this idea until I get close to finishing my masters.

The whole idea about why I wanna do a phd and a masters, to some extent, depend on two reasons...

1) to essentially try and stand out and...