a lost student and her future uncertain career

pri

Standard Member
Mar 8, 2024
Hey guys! I'm a scond year law student. I'm interested in corporate law and quite sure I want to work in this field which I find very fascinating. I've always wanted to work in a law firm in a big city, I find that working in highly stimulating environments is very good for me. What I'm struggling with is making a plan for the fututre... I'm a good student and will hopefully graduate with first class honours. My degree is focused on global and comparative law. I'm debating on getting a post graduate degree in European Business Law to strengthen my knoweldge in corporate law. In the meantime I'm planning on starting with work experiences at some local law firms and maybe attend some firms' open days and workshops. I'd also like to get involved with ELSA (european law students assosciation) and get a prominent role in the community. Furthermore I'm planning on opening an online newspaper where I can keep fellow students updated on relevant commercial law news and events. This is how I plan to build my CV
What I struggle with the most is what to do after... On this platform I hear a lot on vacation schemes, which are not really a thing where I come from (Italy). Should I apply for one? Or can I still land a training contract with good education background and some work experiences? I'd like to work for an intenrantional firm, potentially either in the UK or the US. Are there some general rules and requirements to apply for training contracts in these countries? How long in advance is one supposed to apply for training contracts? I'm scared it'll take too long and eventually it'll be too late to start my career. I'm so lost I'd really appreciate if anyone could help.

pri

Standard Member
Mar 8, 2024