career change - need advice

sheilay

Standard Member
Apr 8, 2021
Hi All,
I see people on this forum are very helpful in sharing their experience and providing advice. I would appreciate, if you could help me with my complicated situation. And sorry for the chaos, but I am still a bit lost and have 1000s thoughts in my head/minute.

I am >30 and have a degree in finance. I consider a career change, although given my age, I am being realistic about my (low) chances of "great" law career. I read through a lot of forums, SRA, called a few unis to get advice.

My (naive) thoughts and hopes were, that as a non-law graduate, I can only do some preparation courses for SQE and voila - I will pass it and later apply for TC. From what the uni advisors have told me, it seems only the name changes, but the overall path won't. I will still have to do GDL and either LPC or SQE. For SQE I can directly go for the exam without doing a prep course in case of a sudden enlightenment. However, they still recommend taking a course.