Extra curricular activities as a post-grad?

cgs97

Star Member
Mar 15, 2020
I graduated in 2019, since then I have done the GDL and I'm now working full time. I don't have as many extra curricular activities now (or while I was doing the GDL) as I did during my undergrad. I do some volunteering, I'm learning how to code and I do a bit of writing for an online magazine, but that's about it at the moment - 45 hour weeks, commuting and applications don't leave me with much free time! I'm aware that extra curricular things should be as recent as possible, but some of my most 'impressive' and enjoyable activities date back to 2017/18 to be honest. I especially feel like I'm 'competing' against undergrads who are actively involved in law societies, sports teams etc.

So my question is, how much should I include from my time at university? And are my current activities enough?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
People misunderstand extra curriculars.

It is not about them having to be recent. It’s about showing you are keeping yourself busy and that you continue to develop a skill set.

You include your activities from university and your current activities / the latter of which you are currently vastly under estimating.

The importance of extra curriculars are only relevant for people who are only studying a degree and have lots of time on their hands compared to someone who is working full time.

Alice G

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Forum Team
M&A Bootcamp
Nov 26, 2018
I would just add to this, I worked part-time throughout university and my extracurriculars were pretty thin. However, I don't feel like I have ever been hindered in the application process because of this. Applications are holistic and everything is taken into account so try not to worry about this. You're doing a great job juggling everything and focus on the things which make you stand out!

Jessica Booker