Got rejected by Stephenson Harwood for their vacation scheme. Not sure where I went wrong!

Kola

Legendary Member
Sep 27, 2020
I'm a law student at LSE and got a (low) 2:1 in my first year. My A-levels and GCSEs are very good as well, so it can't have been education. Despite applying to a tonne of US firms and MC firms, no firm appealed to me quite like Stephenson Harwood because of their leading art & cultural law practice (I make and sell paintings so it was really something I was drawn to). I applied for their Winter Vac scheme, but also put the other schemes down as my second and third options.

I have progressed to subsequent stages with other firms who are more or equally 'prestigious'. The difference is, since I really liked Stephenson Harwood, I actually spent about double the time crafting my application form in comparison with the other firms that I've applied to. I am completely stumped as to why firms - who I have spent less time researching, and are more prestigious - have progressed me to their second stages, yet Stephenson Harwood just flat out rejected me within 2 weeks. I literally filled my application form with the best possible answers I have ever written for anything AND checked it like 10 times for spelling mistakes.

Honestly really confused. Anybody have any insight as to why I could have been rejected? It is just one of those 'shit happens' moments?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Maybe they saw your other vac schemes and wondered why you were interested in them when you have worked for very different firms.

Kola

Legendary Member
Sep 27, 2020
Maybe they saw your other vac schemes and wondered why you were interested in them when you have worked for very different firms.