Mature Entrant

fusion

Gold Member
Premium Member
Jul 17, 2023
Hello

I am a 47 year old looking to become a solicitor. Rather a late career change. :)

Work wise, my career has spanned 25 years in IT, the later years as a consultant.

Law has always interested me, but owing to age, costs and the relative gold dust like qualities of training contracts I considered that the ship had already sailed. The advent of the newly SRA introduced SQE qualification routes has altered my career aspiration trajectory.

Academically, I completed an IT Open University degree 10 years ago. I accepted the award on the basis of having accumulated enough module credits (300) at ‘standard degree’ level. Juggling full time work and a young child heavily influenced my decision. As such, the degree does not carry a final grade. My transcripts show that the average module grading was at 2:2 level. In hindsight, I perhaps wish I had studied an extra 60 credits to be eligible for an Honours degree.

I have three options open to myself before I consider SQE exams:

1. Complete an Open University Law Degree (graduate entry) and aim high for a 2:1 / first.
This route takes two years full time study. Cost is £13,848

2. Complete a PGDL course at the University of Law. This takes 9 months full time. Cost is £10,950

3. Complete the College of Legal Practice course, ‘Graduate Foundation in Law’. This takes 20 weeks full time and costs £3,250

Advice from a relatively senior individual at a well-regarded law firm was that for someone my age and qualification, the focus should be on obtaining a PGDL and not a LLB degree.

Given the fact I am a mature entrant, I am minded to progress option 2 or 3.