My Journey to a TC

traineedreamer

Valued Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
Oct 23, 2019
Hi all,

I am currently a Paralegal, looking to secure a Training Contract.
I completed a Vac Scheme in 2020, but failed to convert it to a TC. After that, I took a break from applying in 2021, and used that time to really research firms and try to tackle each part of the application process.

For the 2022-2023 recruitment cycle, I have:
1) Submitted 3 Winter Vac Scheme Applications
2) 4 firms that I'm applying to for Spring Vac Schemes for and 3 firms that I'm applying to for Summer Vac Schemes.

For this cycle, if I don't manage to secure a TC, I'd at least like to get past the application stage again and make it onto an Assessment Center or secure another Vacation Scheme.

I have 4 goals over the next 7 days:
1) Submit DLA Piper Summer VS application
2) Finish Herbert Smith Freehills Spring VS application
3) Begin drafting Norton Rose Fulbright Spring VS application
4) Complete at least 50% of the TCLA Class: 'Develop your Commercial Awareness: Understand the City, the Financial Markets & More'

Looking forward to seeing what the year brings!

Future_lawyer_somewhere

Distinguished Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Jun 4, 2019
Hey, I'm planning my NRF application as we speak. However = I note this year they have incorporated the use of the "Arctic Shores" test I believe as well as the WG test. (So just a heads up if you didn't already know).

traineedreamer

Valued Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
Oct 23, 2019
Hey, I'm planning my NRF application as we speak. However = I note this year they have incorporated the use of the "Arctic Shores" test I believe as well as the WG test. (So just a heads up if you didn't already know).
Hi! Thank you so much! I had been seeing some people talk about an Arctic Shores test on the Vac Scheme forum and I still don't know what the test is haha!

Jaysen

Founder, TCLA
Staff member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member