My journey to a TC

Slog4TC

Standard Member
Sep 13, 2023
I am a recent non-law grad from a Russell Group university. My final degree classification has not been confirmed due to the strikes, but I will receive either a high 2.1 or a first

I have been applying to paralegal roles since I graduated at the start of summer. I have not found any success - maybe due to the fact I do not have any law qualifications...?

I am considering self-funding the PGDL, starting in January, and applying to TCs from now, onwards. I have never applied to TCs before, as I previously wanted to pursue the bar.

I would really appreciate some advice. I am not sure if I am good enough to be trying for a TC. Scared about self-funding the PGDL - what if I don't get any offers!

Anyone in a similar position or have any advice? Would appreciate it so much.

Last edited:
  • 🤝
Reactions: Runner

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Your A-levels (or other qualifications if it is an equivalent) will be fine.

Paralegal work as a non law grad will be more difficult though, so I am not surprised to hear this. You may want to look at non legal roles in law firms as a bit of a step into the sector or

It sounds like you haven’t really tried applying for vacation schemes/TCs yet if you were previously looking at the Bar. I would give some winter/spring vacation scheme applications a go and see if you have much success before then deciding on whether to do the GDL in 2024 - you can sign up to the GDL very close to the course date, and so you are not going to need a commitment for a good 4+ months.

Runner

Standard Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer
Jun 9, 2023
I am a recent non-law grad from a Russell Group university. My final degree classification has not been confirmed due to the strikes, but I will receive either a high 2.1 or a first