My Journey To A Training Contract

LegallyJas

Gold Member
Premium Member
Sep 28, 2023
Hi guys!

Inspired by everyone’s posts, I’ve decided to document my journey to getting a training contract to track my progress and ultimately to hold myself accountable in achieving this goal.

A little about me, I am a recent law graduate working as a legal assistant at a private practice firm and am focussing on submitting applications to the spring and summer VS/ TCs this cycle. After being rejected from every scheme I applied to in my first year, I felt completely deflated and burnt out. And so I decided to prioritise my mental health by focussing the rest of my time at university enjoying studying law, volunteering at my university’s legal advice clinic and taking up new interests and hobbies to boost my extracurriculars.

To meet my goal, I hope to complete one application per week, complete a TCLA course per week, spend at least 20 minutes a day reading a news story and create a daily news summary to build my commercial awareness over time.

To ensure I stay on track, I will post updates every week outlining my goals for the upcoming week and reporting my accomplishments from the previous week :)

This week’s goal:
- Complete application to DLA Pipers Summer Internship
- Start my research for Clifford Chance
- Complete TCLAs Watson Glaser Course
- Create daily news summaries for this week

axelbeugre

Legendary Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer
Sep 14, 2023
Hi guys!

Inspired by everyone’s posts, I’ve decided to document my journey to getting a training contract to track my progress and ultimately to hold myself accountable in achieving this goal.