Negotiation Group Exercise

L296

Aug 25, 2019
Hello,

Can anyone offer advice on how to prepare for a group negotiation exercise at an Assessment Centre (Macfarlanes)? I have never done one before and do not know what to expect.

Many thanks,

Dheepa

Legendary Member
Staff member
Future Trainee
TCLA Moderator
Premium Member
Forum Team
M&A Bootcamp
Junior Lawyer 43
  • Jan 20, 2019
    Hi, first off huge congrats on getting to the AC! Really well done!

Generally what you can expect from negotiation exercises is:

1. Preparation time - You get split into teams and are given some information (the background to the exercise, what your clients want etc.) to read through and discuss with your other team members.
    2. Negotiation - You then get taken into a different room where you and the opposing team start to negotiate and reach compromises based on what both your clients want.

Some tips:

1. During the preparation time, I always make a list of all the issues followed by what the client's ideal position/outcome vs least ideal outcome is on the issue. This then helps you work out with the rest of your team what you're starting point should be when negotiating with the other side and what the bare minimum you'd be willing to accept is (if forced to negotiate down). Starting with the best possible outcome (or perhaps even slightly more than the client wants) is also a good idea so that you ensure your client is getting a good deal even if you do have to concede some things.
    2. Split the issues between each of your team mates so that each of you have the chance to take the lead on something during the negotiation and really showcase your skills
    3. Do not assume that the other side has been given the exact same information as you. There's often quite a lot of conflicting information on both sides so ask a lot of questions for additional context and maybe don't give away your position on certain issues too quickly!