Open Day Application

al97

Esteemed Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
May 30, 2023
Hi, I planned to apply for a few Open Days and I wonder if members here can help me out as this is my first time. The questions are more/less the same: What do you hope to gain from this OD? (300 words)

I plan to mention 3 facts: 2 about the firm's practice areas and 1 about its training/seat option/DEI. I also tailor my experience to the firm's practice like how I would for a vac scheme. As @Jessica Booker kindly mentioned, my answer should be similar to VS, but I should focus on what I hope to gain.

Other than "I hope to discuss the trainees' involvement when they're in xx seat/ learn about the practice area" I'm not entirely sure what I should write. If anyone has any experience that would be great! Thanks!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi, I planned to apply for a few Open Days and I wonder if members here can help me out as this is my first time. The questions are more/less the same: What do you hope to gain from this OD? (300 words)

I plan to mention 3 facts: 2 about the firm's practice areas and 1 about its training/seat option/DEI. I also tailor my experience to the firm's practice like how I would for a vac scheme. As @Jessica Booker kindly mentioned, my answer should be similar to VS, but I should focus on what I hope to gain.

Other than "I hope to discuss the trainees' involvement when they're in xx seat/ learn about the practice area" I'm not entirely sure what I should write. If anyone has any experience that would be great! Thanks!
Apologies, I should have made myself clearer - when I said the evidence would be similar, I meant the rest of your application rather than your motivational answers (eg your work experience/extra curriculars).