Requesting a zoom call on LinkedIn?

lawstudent12

Dec 28, 2021
I was talking to a friend who studies economics and wants to be an investment banker. He shared that when he networks and connects with people on LinkedIn, he sometimes request a quick zoom call with the other person if he wants to know more about their work. I am a law student and this to me seems really strange because I wouldn't normally feel comfortable taking up so much time.

Is there anything wrong with his approach? Is it acceptable/professional in the legal industry?

Thanks!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Thank you so much - I just wanted to make sure that it wouldn't come across as an entitled second-year bothering professionals lol.
Some people might perceive you as such, but that’s all it is, a perception. I’d just be selective with who you request calls with and make sure the message to them is tailored to them with purpose as to what you want to talk about and some form of reference why you have asked them.

Reactions: lawstudent12

Jaysen

Founder, TCLA
Staff member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
  • Feb 17, 2018
    I was talking to a friend who studies economics and wants to be an investment banker. He shared that when he networks and connects with people on LinkedIn, he sometimes request a quick zoom call with the other person if he wants to know more about their work. I am a law student and this to me seems really strange because I wouldn't normally feel comfortable taking up so much time.

Is there anything wrong with his approach? Is it acceptable/professional in the legal industry?

Thanks!

I think it's a great idea. People may say no because they are busy, but this wouldn't be because a Zoom call is unprofessional.

Reactions: lawstudent12

JunLee2808

Junior Lawyer
    Oct 16, 2021

Thanks!