Securing Three Training Contract Offers As An International Candidate - With DS

Welcome to the next article in our series of interviews with future trainee solicitors. Today we are delighted to hear from DS, who successfully secured three training contract offers as an international student.

1. Who is your training contract with?

Baker McKenzie

2. Are you a law or non law candidate?

Law

3. Which university did you attend?

King's College London

4. Please could you tell us more about your background and current stage?

I’m an international student from Malaysia. I am of a minority ethnic background, attended a state school and am from a low-income family. I graduated in the summer of 2020 and after an intense summer of vac schemes, am currently taking a much needed gap year at home before commencing my LPC in 2022.

5. When and why did you decide to apply to commercial law?