Should I be using Linkedin more? (Law student)

lawstudent12

Dec 28, 2021
I am a second-year law student and currently making applications to law firms. I have noticed that a lot of students in my year are always posting on Linkedin after events (even open days), tagging recruiters and summarising the events.

I don't really like the app and personally find it sooooo cringey exaggerating about every little thing. But, I also want to do whatever is necessary in order to increase my chances post-university (i.e. TCs and other employment opportunities). So, should I do what everyone else seems to be doing? Will it have a positive or negative effect?

anxiouslawyer

Esteemed Member
Junior Lawyer
Feb 26, 2021
You can have a LinkedIn profile if you like, however I wouldn't personally worry too much about posting about law firm events / tagging recruiters. I honestly don't think it makes any difference. Plenty of people I know got TCs without being active on LinkedIn, sometimes not even having a profile at all.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I am a second-year law student and currently making applications to law firms. I have noticed that a lot of students in my year are always posting on Linkedin after events (even open days), tagging recruiters and summarising the events.

I don't really like the app and personally find it sooooo cringey exaggerating about every little thing. But, I also want to do whatever is necessary in order to increase my chances post-university (i.e. TCs and other employment opportunities). So, should I do what everyone else seems to be doing? Will it have a positive or negative effect?
There is no need to do this. I don’t think it will increase your chances of securing something by posting that you have attended an open day or gone to an event. What can help though is adding that information to your profile.