Skadden VC application - how to handle questions geared toward university graduates?

prospectiveswitcher

Legendary Member
Junior Lawyer
Aug 18, 2022
Hi all,

Currently in the process of completing a VC application for Skadden. The three questions are relatively short (250 word count) and they are:

1. Please give details of any prizes, scholarships, positions of responsibility and any other noteworthy achievements that will support your application.
2. Please give details of any interests/hobbies you have outside of university/work.
3. Why are you applying for a training contract at Skadden and why do you believe you are suited to the firm?

I know what to say for #3 and feel pretty comfortable with this, however being honest I am a little uncertain about the first two. The first one seems geared toward students to talk about uni societies, etc. I graduated six years ago so I'm not sure if its as relevant for me to speak about that part of my life. I was thinking I could speak about some professional achievements/projects I have worked on, but risk repeating some of what I wrote in the work history section. I am also unsure what exactly they are looking for in #2 but I might be overthinking it. I have a fairly intense corporate career as it is the past few years, and have not had a whole lot of free time to pursue other achievements in sports, 'extracurriculars' etc. I have some from when I was younger but most of my 'interests' now are probably fairly benign and centre around the usual gym / travel / cooking (I actually do enjoy all of these things to a degree of depth and could talk about that - but I'm worried it'll come off a bit naff?).

Anyone have any insight on if this is more geared toward uni students and I'm best off referencing my uni days or better off speaking about more relevant/present things?

Thanks!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi all,