SQE - post graduate visa (international student)

legallybrunette8

Esteemed Member
Sep 9, 2023
Hi guys,

I'm in a bit of a tricky situation and I've just been feeling a lil more stressed ever since those new visa salary reqs got released. Although it probably won't affect me as I've heard that I'll be qualified as a "new entrant", I still have some questions and probably need confirmation/reassurance

1. I'm currently in my final year studying the LLB, but I've chosen to do my LLM (SQE1+2) after I graduate, which gives me one more year to potentially secure vac schemes/TCs/work experience. Assuming I take the graduate visa after my LLM, will I be able to apply for paralegal roles and work full time in a firm as would any UK national? Would there be any restrictions or things I would have to look out for?

2. If I do work for 2 years as a paralegal, would that make me eligible to qualify as a solicitor in the UK? How would I go about applying to firms after I've had this "qualified" status?

3. If however, I do not secure anything, I'm struggling to see what I can do. I really do want to work in the UK once I'm qualified, but I feel like there's this constant barrier of firms having to be approved by the HO to sponsor work visas. Is there anywhere I can check that will help me find approved firms?

Sorry if this is so confusing but I'd appreciate anyone's help and advice! :)

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
1) While on a student visa, you will be restricted to working 20 hours a week during term time. For LLMs, your term time can sometimes include either briefer or fewer periods of leave compared to an undergraduate course. If you subsequently take up a graduate visa, there will be no restrictions apart from the two years. You can work any job during the visa's length and work for multiple employers.