There are Always Bumps in The Road, But There is a Destination at the End- With a Future Trainee at Clifford Chance

Welcome back everyone to our series of interviews with future trainee solicitors. In our second article today, we have the fantastic opportunity to hear from Lucy, a future trainee at Clifford Chance.

1. Who is your training contract with?

Clifford Chance

2. Are you a law or non-law candidate?

Law

3. Which university did you attend?

The University of Exeter

4. Please could you tell us more about your background and current stage?

Currently, I am in my final year studying LLB Law. I went straight into university from sixth form and secured my training contract in my penultimate year after virtual summer vacation scheme.

5. When and why did you decide to apply to commercial law?

I always thought I wanted to be a family lawyer, but when I started attending networking events in my first year of university, I realised that the larger city firms were more attractive to me. I was drawn in by the clients and large-scale work that the firms were doing. I then sought experience in commercial private practice and in-house, and really enjoyed the varied nature of the work and problem solving in a team.

6. How many applications did you send?

7. How many interviews/offers did you receive?

3 interviews, 3 offers

8. How did you go about the application process? Did you map an application strategy?

At the start, I researched and created a list of firms, and then I created a mind-map of my CV that had my experiences and the skills I gained from them. This was really helpful as a starting board for my applications. I then focused on one application at a time and kept researching as I went along. I'd spend 2-3 weeks on each one, submit it, and move on. I prioritised the earlier deadlines or the ones that were rolling.

9. Did you change your strategy during the application process and, if so, what did you change?