You Only Need One Yes- With Natasha

Welcome back everyone to the next article in our series of interviews with future trainee solicitors. In this article, we are delighted to have heard from Natasha, a future trainee at DLA Piper.

1. Who is your training contract with?

DLA Piper

2. Are you a law or non-law candidate?

Law

3. Which university did you attend?

The University of Birmingham

4. Please could you tell us more about your background and current stage?

I am an ethic female, born and raised in UK. I am the first generation in my family to attend university and I am currently studying on the LPC.

5. When and why did you decide to apply to commercial law?

I applied a couple of years after graduating after spending some time at one of the big four accountancy firms. I decided to apply to commercial law as I was interested in helping businesses achieve their commercial objectives. I wanted a challenging role and I liked that commercial law had such a variety of work that meant no two days were ever the same.

I also wanted a role that was international in nature, where I could be dealing with colleagues all over the world on a daily basis. I liked that working in commercial law still allowed me to give back to the community through pro bono work, enabling me to have a big impact upon society.

6. How many applications did you send?

7. How many interviews/offers did you receive?

8. How did you go about the application process? Did you map an application strategy?