Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi @Jessica Booker

Sorry for yet another A-level-related question.

I took three A-levels many, many years ago. While I passed them all, I did poorly by law firms' standards (and I had no mitigating circumstances). I did go on to university to take a non-law degree, graduating with a first.

Earlier this year, I took exams in three completely different A-level subjects as a self-taught private candidate and achieved three A*s. I am now about to begin a second undergraduate degree (though again not in law) at an Oxbridge university.

For firms with strict A-level requirements, would my new A-level results supersede my old ones, or would they be discounted/considered resits?

Many thanks.
It will be rare for recruiters to see this - usually retakes will be done the year after A-levels, typically the same subject, and/or only for 1-2 subjects at a time rather than all of them.

Given this, it's hard to know how a firm may make a call on this - probably because many recruiters will never have seen this before (I can't ever remember seeing this before).

I think the best process would be to contact any firm with a strict A-level criteria you want to apply to and explain the circumstances (as briefly as you have above) and ask whether they would consider your first or second set of results. For any firm with no A-level criteria, you can just apply anyway.

However, you should disclose both sets of results (mainly because someone will think you have put the wrong year in if you just put your second results in) and to make sure you are fully disclosing your academic results (rather than being at a risk of a suggestion you are hiding the earlier results).

If I was the recruiter, I would personally go with being far more interested in the second results, but only because they were sat at the same time and were in completely different subjects.