Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi, just a bit of a grammar q, should 'banking paralegal' be capitalised? And should modules e.g., 'competition law' be capitalised?
This is where it gets a little bit complicated, as it depends on the situation.

To understand when or when not to capitalise a job title, this article is helpful; Capitalization of Job Titles: When Is It Necessary? (yourdictionary.com)

Something like "banking paralegal" would be capitalised if in a heading on a work experience entry, or if you were using it in a signature/sign off, but wouldn't be if you were putting it in a sentence e.g., "I worked as a banking paralegal".

Similarly with module titles, I would expect it to be capitalised if you are adding it as a module result in an application or CV - e.g.,

First-year modules: Contract (60%), Tort (50%), Legal Skills (70%), Land (60%)

But that if you were writing it in a sentence, you wouldn't capitalise it unless it was in a title. For instance:

I enjoyed studying competition law ✅
I won the Competition Law Award in 2022 ✅

I must stress a lot of firms don't stick to these rules though (even in their own application forms). So see how the firm writes job titles like partner, trainee, associate in the body text (e.g. not headings/summaries) and follow their lead.

Reactions: Lord Sumption

confusedlawstudent

Legendary Member
Premium Member
  • Oct 28, 2021
    I think it may seem like Northern offices have less competition, and it may true in some senses, but given that they generally have fewer places, the competition may end up being proportionally similar. Plus, I'm unsure how well your motivation to apply to a Northern office only to move to London would be looked at as it shows a lack of commitment on your part.