TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2022-23

Status
Not open for further replies.

hopefulfuturetrainee24

Jan 17, 2023
How long did it take to hear if you were invited for a TI with Fieldfisher and is anyone still waiting post tests?
If this is direct application I applied with them pretty early, like when they opened up for applications and I got Invited to an interview just before Christmas. I had my interview today but I know they are recruiting rolling and the calendar to book interviews goes right to the end of January, so you might still hear back. Assessment centres will be held mid February I think she said. They go through each application personally and are only a small team so I think it takes them a bit longer than other firms.

Reactions: Sarah T

eash manzar

• Dec 28, 2022
    Hi,

I studied my undergrad LLB in Scotland so I was in a similar position; I always said "no" to that question (because it was not a qualifying law degree in the jurisdiction that the firm was recruiting for/operating in). If there is space on the application form (i.e. a space for 'additional information' in the education section) you could always say for the sake of clarity/context that though it is not a qualifying law degree in England and Wales, it is in X jurisdiction.
    Do you have any tips for Scottish LLB students who are looking to apply to mainly London based corporate law firms?

futureTS2025hopeful

Legendary Member
    Premium Member
    Oct 23, 2020
    On the age point, I have lost count how many trainees I have recruited in their 30s - many I didn't even clock were in their 30s.

Also had a few trainees in their 40s and at least one in their 50s.

Age really won't be a barrier to get into the profession.