TCLA Direct Training Contract Applications Discussion Thread 2023-4

dd13

Star Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
  • Jan 8, 2022
    How many internationals coming from unis from the outside of the UK have actually seen success in securing a TC? Are the odds really as stacked against us as people say? I cannot seem to get past the application stage and although it can, as anything, use some work, I really dont know if my profile and grades are the only reason, or if visa requirements have had an impact too? I say this from the least arrogant place as well, in the sense that I really do not want to sound like I see myself as the perfect candidate deserving of a contract!

For some context, I graduated with a first equivalent, have AAB equivalent from IB, and have over a year legal work experience in two different companies (not law firms but both in the, and founded two projects with over 500 student members in the three years of my LLB. Definitely can see points of improvement in my application, my motivational letters are usually my weak points, I find that I struggle writing them, but with the amount of applications and time spent, I just cant get an interview anywhere...

Once again, please do not take this as me saying "i am the perfect candidate why is no one picking me". I am far from it. More so I am asking if I should lower my expectations of this journey due to being a post brexit EU citizen, or should I look deeper into what I am doing wrong?
    I went to uni in London, so I can’t speak about the academic side of things.