TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2023-24

laby201

Legendary Member
Premium Member
Jan 28, 2021
Love your attitude. It's always nice to come back after a short break. I'm sure you'll soon get there. If I may ask, for W&C are you waiting to hear back post app or post VI and is this for the spring or summer scheme?
Thank you :) Still waiting post-app for the summer scheme. Applied the day before the deadline though I believe and know they take a while!

Reactions: ADKM

laby201

Legendary Member
Premium Member
Jan 28, 2021
Don't worry. I think we all have stories like this.

I graduated in 2020 and this is my third cycle of applications. I've never gotten past the application stage ever which is frustrating for me because it seems nearly all my law friends from uni around me have training contracts. Sometimes in the past I get upset so much but I've come to the point where I will feel it but I'm not going to take it too personally anymore.

I get some people may say the law firm just isn't right for you but I feel that doesn't help especially when you tried so hard in your application for it to get nowhere - I spend so long on those applications to get rejected. Its even worse for me because I didn't get AAB (I got BBB and missed by a few marks in 2 of them) so I'm really limited on the law firms I can apply for (I don't have any mitigating circumstances).

Just keep going and find something to do meanwhile if you aren't studying and apply the next cycle.

Hope that helps too!
Thanks for the advice, and I really admire your tenacity :)

I think that’s the way to look at it - it’ll happen for us all eventually, and we’ll all be pleased with the outcome. Even if it takes one cycle, three cycles, six cycles or ten cycles, we’ll get there, and it’ll (hopefully) be worth that effort and energy!

S87

Legendary Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Sep 4, 2018