First year non-law grades

ArsenalFC123

May 20, 2020
Hey guys,

I wanted to quickly ask a question about the importance of grades in vac scheme applications at MC/SC and US firms. I'm currently a first year non-law student at a RG university, and have averaged a 68 in first year which i'm really happy with.

However I have only achieved 41 in an optional module - this was originally the result of a 20% class test but will now count for 100% of the module grade due to Covid-19 exam cancellations.

Will this prove to be significantly detrimental to my apps next year? For context, I've achieved three firsts and three 2.1s in my other modules.

Thanks so much for your help :)

hktr

Star Member
Junior Lawyer
Sep 10, 2019
The 41% would normally raise a red flag - given the exceptional circumstances you describe though, I doubt you will be judged harshly by firms. Do make sure to explain what happened in the spaces given for ext circs/additional information.

Otherwise, your grades are fine! :) For non-law, firms are looking for consistently good marks. This is evidenced by the 1sts and 2:1s in your other papers, as well as the 68% overall.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
It’s probably too late, but if you had the option to, you probably should have taken the exam to get your grade up.

One grade won’t be an issue though... you’ll need to make sure all future assessments are consistent though.

ArsenalFC123

May 20, 2020
The 41% would normally raise a red flag - given the exceptional circumstances you describe though, I doubt you will be judged harshly by firms. Do make sure to explain what happened in the spaces given for ext circs/additional information.

Otherwise, your grades are fine! :) For non-law, firms are looking for consistently good marks. This is evidenced by the 1sts and 2:1s in your other papers, as well as the 68% overall.