LPC or SQE?

Carly

Jun 12, 2020
Hi everyone, I’m new on here!

I have been figuring out who to talk to regarding this. I have been googled my way and it lead me to here...

So I graduated my law degree in 2018 and have had two years just working - a paralegal role.

I am now at the decision of whether to go back to uni in September and do the LPC or wait until 2021 and start the SQE.

I am really unsure what route to take as to be honest I don’t really know what the pros and cons are of each. I have friends who have done the LPC however I feel like I need other advice.

Some advice would be really appreciated.

Many thanks in advance!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
LPC:
- Expensive
- once you have a training contract, you are practically guaranteed qualification
- bottle neck of opportunity is just getting the job in the first place
- fixed time commitment - the earliest you could qualify is 24 months after completing the LPC
- have to stick with one employer throughout your time

SQE:
- can train at more than one firm
- cheaper (supposedly)
- could take a shorter amount of time to qualify, especially if you utilise previous legal work experience
- lower pass rates of SQE assessments, so no guarantee of qualification

• ℹ️
Reactions: W and amb98

amb98

Distinguished Member
Feb 26, 2020
LPC:
- Expensive
- once you have a training contract, you are practically guaranteed qualification
- bottle neck of opportunity is just getting the job in the first place
- fixed time commitment - the earliest you could qualify is 24 months after completing the LPC
- have to stick with one employer throughout your time

SQE:
- can train at more than one firm
- cheaper (supposedly)
- could take a shorter amount of time to qualify, especially if you utilise previous legal work experience
- lower pass rates of SQE assessments, so no guarantee of qualification

Thanks Jessica, extremely useful!