Ask A Graduate Recruiter Anything!

avocadotoast

Star Member
Junior Lawyer
  • Jun 15, 2020
    Hi Jessica,

I hope you're well.

I recently finished my TC application for White & Case, only to realise that I ended my cover letter with 'Yours Sincerely' instead of 'Yours sincerely'.

Have I completely ruined my chances? Or is there hope?

S321

Star Member
    Jan 28, 2020
    Hello! I’m currently a paralegal for GLP and I imagine what they are looking for is as Jessica says more about your interest in the work. Express why you are interested in government work, doing things like drafting bills and shaping policy. It’s very different to law firms, as lawyers’ clients are mostly policy/fellow civil service professionals (as well as ultimately ministers). Could also write about why you are interested in the civil service in general and why a profession with a duty to uphold the rule of law appeals to you. Just a few ideas, hope this helps. Do drop me a message if you’d like:)

Also just for info for anyone applying, it recently became GLP rather than GLS so do avoid using GLS if possible!

Thank you! Thats also very helpful:)

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
    TCLA Moderator
    Gold Member
    Graduate Recruitment
    Premium Member
    Forum Team
    Aug 1, 2019
    Hi Jessica,

I hope you're well.

I recently finished my TC application for White & Case, only to realise that I ended my cover letter with 'Yours Sincerely' instead of 'Yours sincerely'.

Have I completely ruined my chances? Or is there hope?

no - exceptionally minor error that wouldn’t concern people solely own its own.

James Smith

Jun 19, 2020
    Hi Jessica!