2020-21 Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sl1410

Standard Member
  • Dec 17, 2020
    I'm a second-year law student and applied to their Spring Vacation Scheme (which I'm not even allowed to apply to). I emailed them several times informing them of this just to let them know of the mistake, received no response. That would have been fine had I been rejected, but I've progressed through the various stages of their application process now (which is weird as it is given my mistake), and I don't want to end up in a situation where I am face to face with an interviewer and suddenly they realise I've applied for the wrong scheme and reject me.

There was also the whole debacle of sending the research questions by email which was strange especially when they use Apply4law I think. Additionally, as people have mentioned, they've decided to renege on their adherence to deadlines on multiple occasions.

This is not to say that it isn't an excellent firm nor does it objectively say anything negative about the firm's GR. Just my own personal experiences have been a bit strange relative to other firms who I have found to be far more organised.

I had the same issue but they had responded and said that the spring vac is now open to penultimate years as well so don't worry :)

Jacob Miller

Legendary Member
    Future Trainee
    Forum Team
  • Feb 15, 2020
    Travers Smith is well known for being the James May of law firm graduate recruitment (aka Captain Slow). In the last cycle, I applied for the Direct 2022 TC in November 2019 (so extremely comfortably before the deadline). In July 2020 they got back to me to say 'lol soz we filled all our places before we even bothered to read and/or reject your app ok bye better luck next time'. I'm sure that's why they have now moved to a non-rolling deadline for their summer VS.