2020-21 Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

NSinger

Esteemed Member
  • Dec 21, 2019
    It isn’t as binary as that.

Non RG applicants are much less likely to apply

Non RG applicants tend to have less opportunity for careers guidance or insights into firms.
    I agree with this. As an non-RG student I have seen first hand the stark difference in opportunities to gain insight into commercial law on campus. Often the big firms have target universities where they host lots of events at and also have campus ambassadors etc.

alicebloom

Dec 27, 2020
    Is a degree from Oxbridge more difficult to obtain? I am not convinced it is more difficult.

It may be more intellectually difficult. But considering you have far stronger support mechanisms at Oxbridge, including tutorials that are often one-on-one or in very small groups, it could be argued it is easier to obtain a strong grade in an Oxbridge degree because of the mechanisms in place to get you there. Constant, regular and detailed feedback from your first week undoubtedly allow you to learn more, quicker.

So maybe the student doing the same course at Reading or Oxford Brookes has to work harder to achieve the same grade where they have to be more self sufficient? And that could be why it is more difficult.

Just my opinion on the matter anyway.
    Definitely respect and understand your opinion! However as a Cambridge student myself I would certainly say that it is extremely difficult! Yes, there may be more one-on-one "support", but when you're expected to write 15+ 2000 word essays in 8 weeks it becomes very easy to fall behind. You're definitely not spoon fed! (Again, I have no experience at other unis though so it is all subjective I guess)

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
    TCLA Moderator
    Gold Member
    Graduate Recruitment
    Premium Member
    Forum Team
    Aug 1, 2019