2020-21 Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

ofm

Distinguished Member
  • Jan 14, 2021
    Wondering if anyone else is in the same position as me?

I'm a non-law grad & trying to secure a training contract for 2023. I can't afford to pay for the GDL/LPC so hoping to get one this year so I can be sponsored by a firm. Terrified that if I don't get one this year I'll have to take the SQE (which I really don't want to do) because I won't be able to start the GDL before 31 Dec 2021.

Can anyone give me advice on loans for the GDL or anything else? Thank you!!

Reactions: cmaj

TiredPG

Star Member
    Forum Winner
    Jan 6, 2021
    I promise I will stop after this one because again I don't mean to get into a brawl. I am just passionate about age discrimination as something we seem to care less about than other issues.

A. If you think discrimination is wrong,
    B. If you think age is a protected characteristic,
    C. A policy like CC's that disadvantages older applicants (as I have shown before) is wrong.

I am claiming the morality is simple because I am sure most people would agree with A and B. So if C is true (as I've argued before) the morality is clear. And on that, we can quibble about the legality of C but the morality...I don't think so...

But again, this is getting a bit off track. I just wanted to point out discrimination not get into a fight here so apologies if I offended anyone and I hope some of you will have a think about this issue.
    Whilst I don't agree with their policy, I do not think that it's age discrimination.

Anyone can start a degree at any age; they are not filtering based on age, they're filtering based on when one started their degree. It is no different to other firms or companies having schemes for first years only, etc.

TiredPG

Star Member
    Forum Winner
    Jan 6, 2021
    Wondering if anyone else is in the same position as me?