Ask A Graduate Recruiter Anything!

Sam55

Esteemed Member
Jan 28, 2020
Hi Jessica,

I hope you're well! I just wanted to ask, what kind of grades do firms look for in the GDL? I understand that the undergraduate degree is the most important thing but I'd be interested to know what grades would be considered to be a negative on an application and what grades would 'add' to the application if that makes sense? Is it fairly similar to undergrad where you want at least a mid-high 2:1?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi @Jessica Booker,

Would really appreciate your views on this:

I’m a final year law student in my first application cycle. If I don’t get a TC this year I’m not sure what do next.

If I spend the next year/s in a different job (hopefully legal or finance-related) to build up experience and strengthen my position before entering my second application window (Sep 2021), rather than doing the LPC, would this put me at a disadvantage? Would firms still sponsor me if I end up taking the LPC a few years down the line (if I secure a TC with them then)?

Thanks,
No I don’t think that would put you at a disadvantage at all. Firms will still sponsor you if you haven’t started the course (assuming the provide sponsorship) and some even retrospectively pay back your LPC fees too.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi Jessica,

I hope you're well! I just wanted to ask, what kind of grades do firms look for in the GDL? I understand that the undergraduate degree is the most important thing but I'd be interested to know what grades would be considered to be a negative on an application and what grades would 'add' to the application if that makes sense? Is it fairly similar to undergrad where you want at least a mid-high 2:1?