Advice needed - Should I commit to LPC in September (self funded)

Jones

Gold Member
Premium Member
Aug 4, 2021
Should I commit to the LPC in September at ULaw?

Some context about me and my situation:
A) I do not have a training contract, and this is my first round of TC applications.

B) I attend a non russell group university and will be graduating this year (2022). I graduated first in my year (1/170 students) and was awarded numerous academic/extra curricular prizes. I also have some legal experience via volunteering.

C) I am hoping to study an academic masters (LLM/ equivalent at top uni next year (2023) (been encouraged to by multiple lecturers at my uni). This in theory would be after my LPC. Then hopefully move on to start training contract 2024.*

My questions
1. Do law firms (specifically magic/silver circle / top international commercial law firms) disadvantage those who self fund their own LPC?

2. Should I defer this year LPC place and do something else, start my academic LLM in 2023 and then have better luck with TCs

Any advice would be much appreciated,

Thank you.

* I understand the realities of direct TC apps.

• ℹ️
Reactions: LawStudent2000

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Should I commit to the LPC in September at ULaw?

Some context about me and my situation:
A) I do not have a training contract, and this is my first round of TC applications.

B) I attend a non russell group university and will be graduating this year (2022). I graduated first in my year (1/170 students) and was awarded numerous academic/extra curricular prizes. I also have some legal experience via volunteering.

C) I am hoping to study an academic masters (LLM/ equivalent at top uni next year (2023) (been encouraged to by multiple lecturers at my uni). This in theory would be after my LPC. Then hopefully move on to start training contract 2024.*

My questions