Disatisfied with the multitude of advice there has been

Jaked

Jul 16, 2021
I graduated in 2020 on the LL.M QLD (full time) whilst working full time as a paralegal. Midway through my studies, I was made homeless and disowned my own family. Needless to say, this affected my grades and my self esteem when it comes to training contract applications. I have spent the better part of 3 years, building up experience but also exploring opinions as per my situation - what chances I have and so on. As the title suggests, I have been recommended everything from taking the SQE to doing Cilex. This is despite there being others in a similar situation being given encouragement when it comes to the LPC and securing a training contract.

I do not understand why I am not a good candidate for TCs, why there are not suitable routes to becoming a solicitor that do not involve saving up lots of money (surviving being homeless does not serve as a good basis for this, neither does the damage to one's mental health). I need someone to go through it with me and give me a definitive answer, because I do not intend to give despite the disparaging and superficial attitude take towards my circumstances in paqrticular. If anyone would be willing to offer any advice on advancing my applications I would appreciate it a lot.

Reactions: axelbeugre

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I wouldn’t advise anyone (no matter what their circumstances, background or profile) to do the LPC now unless they are applying to 2024 training contract opportunities.

From 2025, the vast majority of the applicant pool will only be able to do the SQE and so most firms are moving to that model for their 2025 intakes. Considering many firms are now recruiting for 2026 or 2027 opportunities this cycle, I would expect most people will go forward for SQE training contracts.