I am worried that I can’t secure a training contract

Clau

Standard Member
Apr 4, 2021
Hi guys!!! So I’m in need of some serious help. I felt like I have lost all my motivation this year after what has happened with the pandemic, constantly being rejected for paralegal roles and my mental illness.

I am currently in the process of applying for a TC because I missed vacation scheme deadlines. I was unable to do A levels at school as a very serious incident happened. Following the incident, I developed bipolar disorder and I wasn’t in a good place. I started studying music as it helped me and distracted me from the past. I studied at a high level passing with distinctions and merits with the associated boards of the Royal schools of music.

in absence of my A levels, I took an accredited foundation course to get I to university and study law. I attend the university of central Lancashire and graduated with a first.

I did a vacation scheme with an international firm, I had some paralegal experience for an In house company, I worked as a hostess at a hotel and I worked with the orchestra. I commuted to university 2 hours a day as well as work and horse riding as a I was a competitive athlete. I can also speak five languages.

In summary... will these qualifications and characteristics allow me to obtain a TC considering my mitigating circumstances or, will my application be completely disregarded? Sometimes I think that because I didn’t graduate from an Oxbridge uni, my chances are very low. I constantly worry and I’m really doing my best.

Clau

Standard Member
Apr 4, 2021
Are you explaining your extenuating circumstances in applications?
Hi, yes. I will be explaining that. I’m not sure if bipolar disorder will be considered.
I am also applying to some firms that no longer require A-levels. Perhaps it’s a better chance. I’m not aiming for the best best firms because I am trying to be pragmatic.