My journey to a TC - seeking advice on how to improve

celine02

Mar 16, 2023
Hi everyone, I am currently a penultimate student studying law but has had an unsuccessful application cycle, and is starting a thread here to keep myself accountable and improve for next year's. I am also seeking advice on how to stay motivated throughout this summer while people around me go off on their vacation schemes.

Things to improve on:
  • Applications
    • Go to more open day/insight events to get a better idea of a firm's inner workings
    • Make sure I am relating my answers back to the firm when appropriate
  • Interviews
    • Be more confident! Don't feel like an imposter! You have made it this far - you are studying at a top RG university and doing okay despite a difficult year in your personal life
  • AC
    • Improve your commercial awareness, read more FT articles and think about how it relates to a law firm's work
    • Practice practice practice case studies!

Additionally:
  • What shall I do this summer to keep myself occupied? I would like to continue building up some soft skills which are transferable - I think it would be helpful regardless if it is non-law related just to build up my confidence
    • Part-time job? Volunteering work? Any ideas?
If anyone else has any advice, motivational quotes or even just to rant, feel free to reply to this thread! :))

Reactions: Erin and Jaysen

Jaysen

Founder, TCLA
Staff member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
  • Feb 17, 2018
    Will be rooting for you - best of luck :)

When deciding what to do to build my confidence, I usually find it helpful to ask myself the question: What could I do that would be helpful right now that I am avoiding because it’s scary?

celine02

Mar 16, 2023
    Update:
    I am doing my summer VS interview with Stephenson Harwood next week after a successful WG test and case study!:)