Prospective Corporate Lawyer - what to do?

PlimptonWeld

Star Member
Jul 13, 2022
I'm an incoming History undergraduate this year; careers-wise, I've been thinking about corporate law recently. I used to dream about becoming a Historian (doing a Masters then PhD) but my mates took the mickey out of me being unemployed for life (haha). Jokes aside, a great mentor/teacher at school was formerly a corporate lawyer pre-2008/9 at a boutique law firm and he said I would be more than capable of becoming a competent corporate lawyer.

What are the ways I can prep myself for a career path into corporate law in the UK from now?

Reactions: George Maxwell

George Maxwell

Administrator
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer 50
Oct 25, 2021
I'm an incoming History undergraduate this year; careers-wise, I've been thinking about corporate law recently. I used to dream about becoming a Historian (doing a Masters then PhD) but my mates took the mickey out of me being unemployed for life (haha). Jokes aside, a great mentor/teacher at school was formerly a corporate lawyer pre-2008/9 at a boutique law firm and he said I would be more than capable of becoming a competent corporate lawyer.

What are the ways I can prep myself for a career path into corporate law in the UK from now?
Hey @PlimptonWeld,

It's great to meet you! Welcome to the community.

My advice would be the following:
  • If you want to find out more about commercial law, @Jacob Miller's articles are a fantastic start. His "Foundations of Commercial Law" article will be particularly relevant at your stage!