Second year exams - advice!!

americanmonarch

Standard Member
Apr 27, 2022
Hi All,

So, I'm here asking for some advice about how to do well in my exams - I am incredibly stressed.

For context, I am a second-year law student studying at a top RG uni. I've been pretty active with the whole application thing since my first year, so I kinda just kept this up in my second year and have secured four vacation schemes this cycle with big city law firms - alongside being offered a TC by a US law firm.

In my first year of uni, I got a mid-2:1 and exams were 24-hours open book, so it definitely helped with the stress.

This year, I made sure to not apply to a plethora of firms because I didn't want to overwhelm myself so I only chose five. Nonetheless, as most people know this can take up a lot of time due to drafting answers, doing WG's, VI's, AC's etc (and worrying lol). I'm also part of two big societies at uni where I play important roles which took up a lot of my time. So with all this in mind naturally, I have fallen behind on my degree, to the point where I feel like I don't know much. My exams are in just under two months and to add insult to injury, they are timed this year (3 hours for 3 essays), so I am absolutely losing it. I am so stressed out, it's unreal. Not to mention that I'm doing two important modules - contract and constitutional law - and I'm really trying to find the best way to make sure I cover the content enough to get a good grade.

Perhaps you might be thinking that, if I've already managed to secure a TC in my second year, I will definitely do well in my exams but I honestly feel so stressed right now and I don't know what to do. I think that I much prefer the whole working world instead of my degree and I'm worried that I might mess it up this year and lose my TC offer (God forbid).