n15

Jul 21, 2022
Should I self-fund the LPC/SQE or look for another career?

Just a bit about my personal circumstances:

I'm a 2021 Law LLB grad from an ex-poly non-Russell group (first class)
120 UCAS

I've been working but the work isn't skilled and I come from an under-represented background.

I secured 1 Vac scheme for a full service law firm, but my other training contract applications have folded (mostly after online video interviews).

I made several paralegal applications but due to lack of experience I haven't got a job offer yet.

I'm interested in a career in commercial law, but also looked into consulting and recruitment.

I'm concerned about self-funding and spending time studying and potentially not even securing paralegal roles, so I would like to know what I should take into consideration when thinking about self-funding?

Would it be wise to go into further study?

What alternatives are there that are realistic substitutes and less competitive?

Thank you

Reactions: Futurelawyer!

AvniD

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Gold Member
Premium Member
Oct 25, 2021
Hi @n15! Linking this thread here from the forum that concerned a similar discussion. My best advice to you is to only study further if that's what you're truly interested in + if you see a direct benefit flowing from it with regard to your career plans. I partially self-funded my LPC and did so because I knew this was a way for me to get a foot into the world of what legal practice is actually like. This was back in 2019, however, when the SQE hadn't yet been introduced in full force and I may not make the same decision today in light of the SQE, which is probably what I'd choose instead. What kind of work are you doing and has your vac scheme begun yet?

n15

Jul 21, 2022