Some advice for a Law student?

Semisama

Jul 7, 2023
I’d just like some advice on what to do in my position.

I’m about to graduate with a 2.1 LLB from a good uni, and I really want to start working when possible but I’m having trouble getting to even the interview stages. I’ve spoken to my uni’s career services and professors multiple times and they liked my CV, while also providing valuable feedback to make it better. I have multiple forms of legal experiences which show my interest to work in the legal sector, and I’ve had three internships (two in person, one online during the pandemic).

I think my main problem is that my in-person internships were undertaken outside of the UK. I’m an international student and whenever possible I return home, so I apply to work to internships there too. These internships come from globally renowned companies and all are Tier 1 firms on Legal 500, so there's no question to their caliber or competitiveness. For example I worked at Dentons, but this was in my home country. I do understand how working outside of the UK legal sector may not necessarily add up as experience, but I’m still at a loss as to why it wouldn’t be considered valuable.

My parents would like me to go back home and take the Bar exams, as it’s only 12 months and afterwards I would be qualified as a lawyer. In those 9 months I could accomplish a lot to establish myself further. They mentioned that qualifying at home would significantly enhance my skills and make me more employable in the UK, make me stand out, but I can’t help wondering if this would actually have such an impact.